WeHealth by Servier and DEEPLINK MEDICAL sign a partnership to develop a new e-health solution

13/03/2018

A technological breakthrough for patients with solid tumors

Paris, 13 March 2018 – WeHealth by Servier, the Servier Group’s e-Health department, and DEEPLINK MEDICAL signed a partnership to develop an e-Health solution designed to improve the monitoring of patients with solid tumors[1].

Medical imaging is fundamental to manage patients with solid tumors allowing to better assess the efficacy of a cancer therapy. It is mainly based on the morphological assessment of tumors (size, density, etc.) which can be estimated by measuring evaluation criteria (e.g. RECIST: Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors). These criteria, defined by WHO[2], are essential to assessing new cancer drugs in clinical trials. While oncologists and radiologists agree on the importance of monitoring these criteria and the need to include them in their daily practice, they are also vocal about the time and energy involved in collecting and assessing these criteria[3] which make the assessment and monitoring process of tumor response to treatment long and complex.

It is to solve this problem that WeHealth by Servier and DEEPLINK MEDICAL, a start-up from Lyon, have formed a partnership to develop innovative data monitoring and sharing software to facilitate communication about patients’ medical records among healthcare professionals. Its functions enable the prescription, collection, analysis and monitoring of complex radiological data to be standardized and made accessible, in real time, to the medical practitioners concerned. The software will ensure data safety and transparency throughout the process.

This solution should thus facilitate communication between all the practitioners involved in medical supervision and help to improve the support of patients with solid tumors.

“WeHealth by Servier is investing in the design of software to assess patient response to therapy which could considerably optimise the therapeutic monitoring of patients with solid tumors”, declared Dr David Guez, director of WeHealth by Servier. “The first e-health tool dedicated to oncology conducted jointly by Servier, it showcases the Servier Group’s commitment to offering innovative, connected solutions, covering a complete range of therapeutic needs, to provide patients with better support in monitoring their illness.”

The agreement between WeHealth by Servier and DEEPLINK MEDICAL concerns an exclusive world distribution license outside France (including Monaco and France’s overseas possessions and territories).

“This partnership is an important accelerator for our company. The combination of a major group, such as Servier, with the agility of our structure, provides a unique opportunity to target wide-reaching distribution of the tool from the outset. The agreement also means that we can envisage rapid roll-out of this innovative solution on the international market, to the benefit of healthcare professionals and therefore, of their patients.” Dr Charles Journe, CEO of DEEPLINK MEDICAL

In March 2018, this solution entered the test phase at the Leon-Berard Cancer Centre for Lyon and Rhône-Alpes (France) for a period of 6 months. Its launch on the international market is scheduled for early 2019.

 

About WeHealth by Servier

WeHealth by Servier is the Group’s exciting new e-health brand. Its goal is to deliver an effective response to emerging healthcare market demand for e-health or connected health, with an approach centered on the patient.

WeHealth by Servier is driven by the spirit of entrepreneurship and intends to invest in innovations created in partnership with startups worldwide.

More information: www.wehealthbyservier.com

 

About Servier

Servier is an international pharmaceutical company governed by a non-profit foundation, with its headquarters in France (Suresnes). With a strong international presence in 148 countries and a turnover of 4.152 billion euros in 2017, Servier employs 21,600 people worldwide. Entirely independent, the Group reinvests 25% of its turnover (excluding generic drugs) in research and development and uses all its profits for development. Corporate growth is driven by Servier’s constant search for innovation in five areas of excellence: cardiovascular, immune-inflammatory and neuropsychiatric diseases, cancer and diabetes, as well as by its activities in high-quality generic drugs.

Becoming a key player in oncology is part of Servier’s long-term strategy. Currently, there are nine molecular entities in clinical development in this area, targeting gastric and lung cancers and other solid tumors, as well as different types of leukemia and lymphomas. This portfolio of innovative cancer treatments is being developed with partners worldwide, and covers different cancer hallmarks and modalities, including cytotoxics, proapoptotics, immune, cellular and targeted therapies, to deliver life-changing medicines to patients.

More information: www.servier.com

Press contacts:

Sonia MARQUES              : media@servier.com – Tél. +33 (0)1 55 72 40 21 / + 33 (0) 7 84 28 76 13

Karine BOUSSEAU          : media@servier.com – Tél. +33 (0)1 55 72 60 37

 

About DEEPLINK MEDICAL

DEEPLINK MEDICAL is a Lyon-based company that publishes digital solutions for the innovation and optimization of healthcare provided by and for physicians.

In addition to the use of digital solutions for new medical uses, DEEPLINK MEDICAL, which is brimming with research and development ideas, is an accelerator of organizational innovation in healthcare.

This dynamic structure is driven by the alchemy of 3 complementary skills: medical, technical and organisational.

DEEPLINK MEDICAL’s innovative telemedicine solutions are now used in 40 healthcare centers in France.

For more information, click on  http://deeplink-medical.com/

 

Find Deeplink Medical on our social media:

[1]    Solid tumors: solid cancer tumors refer to the abnormal multiplication of cells in “solid” organs such as the breast or prostate, as opposed to leukemia, a type of cancer that affects the blood and bone marrow.

[2]    WHO: World Health Organization

[3]    according to a market survey conducted by the Research Partnership Ltd in February 2018 in Europe and the US on a sample of 75 healthcare professionals

WeHealth by Servier et DEEPLINK MEDICAL signent un partenariat pour le développement d’une nouvelle solution e-santé dans le domaine de l’oncologie

13/03/2018

Une avancée technologique au bénéfice des patients atteints de tumeurs solides

Paris, le 13 mars 2018 – WeHealth by Servier, la direction e-santé du groupe Servier, et DEEPLINK MEDICAL ont signé un partenariat pour le développement d’une solution e-santé conçue pour améliorer le suivi des patients atteints de tumeurs solides[1].

L’imagerie est une des clés diagnostic de la prise en charge des patients souffrant de tumeurs solides car elle permet d’évaluer l’efficacité d’un traitement anti-cancéreux. Elle est principalement fondée sur l’évaluation morphologique des tumeurs (taille, densité …) qui peut être estimée par la mesure de critères d’évaluation (ex : RECIST : Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors). Définis par l’OMS[2], ces critères sont essentiels dans le cadre de l’évaluation d’un nouveau médicament d’oncologie en essais cliniques. Si les oncologues et les radiologues s’entendent sur l’importance de suivre ces critères et sur le besoin réel de les intégrer à leur pratique quotidienne, ils soulignent également la lourdeur de leur collecte et de leur évaluation[3].
rendant le processus et le suivi d’évaluation de la réponse tumorale long et complexe.

C’est pour répondre à cette problématique que WeHealth by Servier, et DEEPLINK MEDICAL, une start-up lyonnaise, se sont associés pour développer un logiciel innovant de suivi et de partage de données facilitant la communication entre les professionnels de santé autour du dossier patient. Ses fonctionnalités permettent de standardiser la prescription, le recueil, l’analyse et le suivi de critères radiologiques complexes selon les normes en vigueur, et de les rendre accessibles, en temps réel, à l’ensemble des praticiens référents. Le logiciel assurera la sécurité et la transparence des données tout au long du processus.

Cette solution devrait ainsi faciliter la communication entre l’ensemble des praticiens impliqués dans le suivi médical et contribuer à améliorer la prise en charge des patients souffrant de tumeurs solides.

« WeHealth by Servier s’investit dans la conception d’un logiciel d’évaluation de la réponse au traitement qui pourrait considérablement optimiser le suivi thérapeutique de patients souffrants de tumeurs solides », a déclaré le Dr David Guez, Directeur de WeHealth by Servier. « Premier outil e-santé dédié à l’oncologie porté conjointement par Servier, il atteste de l’engagement du groupe Servier d’offrir des solutions innovantes et connectées, couvrant tous les besoins thérapeutiques, pour améliorer l’accompagnement des patients dans le suivi de leur maladie ».

L’accord conclu entre WeHealth by Servier et DEEPLINK MEDICAL porte sur une licence exclusive de distribution mondiale hors France (incluant Monaco et les DROM-COM).

« Ce partenariat est un véritable accélérateur pour notre société. L’association d’un grand groupe comme Servier à l’agilité de notre structure offre une perspective unique de diffusion importante de cet outil.   De plus, cet accord, permettra une projection rapide de cette solution innovante à l’international, pour le plus grand bénéfice des professionnels de santé et donc de leurs patients », explique le Dr Charles Journé, Président de DEEPLINK MEDICAL.

Depuis mars 2018, cette solution est en phase de test au Centre Léon-Bérard, le centre de lutte contre le cancer de Lyon et Rhône-Alpes (France) pour une durée de 6 mois. Son lancement commercial à l’international est prévu début 2019.

À propos de WeHealth by Servier

WeHealth by Servier est la nouvelle direction e-santé du groupe. Son objectif est de proposer une réponse concrète à la demande croissante du marché de la e-santé ou santé connectée, avec une approche centrée sur le patient. WeHealth by Servier est animée par l’esprit d’entrepreneuriat et prévoit d’investir dans des innovations mises au point en partenariat avec des start-ups dans le monde entier.

Plus d’informations sont disponibles à l’adresse www.wehealthbyservier.com

 

Contacts presse :

Sonia MARQUES            : media@servier.com – Tél. : +33 (0)1 55 72 40 21 / + 33 (0) 7 84 28 76 13
Karine BOUSSEAU         : media@servier.com – Tél. : +33 (0)1 55 72 60 37

 

A propos de Servier

Servier est un laboratoire pharmaceutique international gouverné par une Fondation, et son siège se trouve en France à Suresnes. S’appuyant sur une solide implantation internationale dans 148 pays et sur un chiffre d’affaires de 4,152 milliards d’euros en 2017, Servier emploie 21 600 personnes dans le monde. Totalement indépendant, le Groupe réinvestit 25 % de son chiffre d’affaires (hors activité génériques) en Recherche et Développement et utilise tous ses bénéfices au profit de son développement. La croissance du groupe repose sur la recherche constante d’innovation dans cinq domaines d’excellence : les maladies cardiovasculaires, immuno-inflammatoires et neuropsychiatriques, les cancers et le diabète, ainsi que sur une activité dans les médicaments génériques de qualité.

Pour répondre aux besoins croissants des patients, Servier a fait de l’oncologie l’un des axes prioritaires de sa recherche et développement (R&D). En effet les cancers, sont responsables aujourd’hui d’une mort sur six dans le monde, et représenteront 233 millions de nouveaux cas d’ici 2030. La part de l’oncologie en R&D chez Servier est actuellement de 37% et devrait atteindre les 50% d’ici deux ans. Afin d’accélérer la recherche, et de mettre au point des dispositifs médicaux toujours plus performants, le groupe mise sur une recherche innovante, centrée sur le patient, et une politique de partenariat dynamique, avec des start-up mais aussi avec les meilleurs organismes scientifiques privés ou publics dans le monde, tels qu’Harvard, aux Etats-Unis, ou l’institut Curie en France.

 

A propos de DEEPLINK MEDICAL

DEEPLINK MEDICAL est une société lyonnaise d’édition de solutions numériques pour l’innovation et l’optimisation des parcours de soins pensés par et pour des médecins.

Véritable bouillonnement de recherche et développement, DEEPLINK MEDICAL, en plus d’utiliser le numérique pour de nouveaux usages médicaux, se positionne comme un véritable accélérateur de l’innovation organisationnelle en santé.

Cette structure dynamique est portée par l’alchimie de 3 compétences complémentaires : médicale, technique et organisationnelle.

Les solutions innovantes de télémédecine de DEEPLINK MEDICAL sont d’ores et déjà présentes dans près de 40 centres de soins en France.

 

Plus d’informations sont disponibles à l’adresse : http://deeplink-medical.com/

 

 

[1]    Tumeurs solides : les cancers solides désignent la multiplication anormale de cellules dans des organes “solides” comme le sein ou la prostate, par opposition à la leucémie, un cancer qui touche le sang et la moelle osseuse.

[2]    OMS : Organisation Mondiale de la Santé

[3]    Etude de marché réalisée par The Research Partnership, Ltd en février 2018 en Europe et aux US sur un échantillon de 75 professionnels de santé.